Skip to content

Knight of the Heart (knightsheart)

Poetry, Short stories, Blog, Titan

Please Pay Today, said the envelope, Support your local first responders.

Three of them came rushing in full of confident determination.  They had fallen faces when they came back out.  

The policeman is polite. Probably thinks just another baby boomer checking out.  Then comes the morgue man who knew not to look into the eyes of grief.

I remember our sweet goodnight.  I woke with tears in my eyes feeling her last kiss.

I wrote the check $452.63 for ambulance service. Stamped it and put it in the mail.  I go back to our empty room waiting for her kiss again.
/
/
/copyright Sean Vessey 2012

http://jennymatlock.blogspot.com/2012/07/welcome-to-week-one-hundred-and.html?m=1

Tags: , , ,

